My experiences with denial – being with, lived with! (in the context of grief)

Vamsy Krishna D

Chapter- 2

There are 5 stages of grieving process (need not to be experiencing in same order)

  1. Denial
  2. Anger
  3. Bargaining
  4. Depression and
  5. Acceptance

Let’s understand each one of the stages clearly by asking ourselves these questions; Why this stage is important to experience? Why we undergo these stages? Why we may stick at one of the stages? Why these stages are not in order or linear? And what it feels like to be in denial? Finally, when denial breaks or fades ways how we feel or process the information and feelings of loss?

Denial: Refusing to acknowledge or Denying in the fact that something happened or lost someone.

Why denial?

  • It helps in coping with emotional conflict, stress, painful thoughts, threatening information and anxiety.
  • When we are in denial, we may respond with shock and numbness.
  • Denial and shock help us to cope with overwhelming emotions and makes us to…

View original post 1,632 more words


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Website Built with

%d bloggers like this: